Conservation

Corkscrew Watershed Science Forum

Friday, February 22, 2019

REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN: https://cwsf2019.eventbrite.com

The 60,000-acre Corkscrew Regional Ecosystem Watershed is dedicated to the preservation of water resources and natural communities. A variety of agencies and organizations assist with this cooperative effort including Audubon’s Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary, the South Florida Water Management District, the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, the CREW Trust, and Collier County, among others.

Begun by our science staff in 2015 and held at Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary, this one-day meeting brings together scientists working within the Corkscrew Watershed to present their work to their colleagues, policy staff, decision makers, volunteers and the general public. This meeting provides a platform for scientific presentations, as well as opportunities for networking, productive discussion, and building collaborations.

**********************************

2019 AGENDA

8:45 a.m.

Welcome

9:00 a.m.

Change in pine density over 40 years without fire in the Corkscrew watershed and it’s possible effect of evapotranspiration, groundcover species, wildlife, and wildfire

Jean McCollom* & Mike Duever (Natural Ecosystems); jeanm@naples.net

9:15 a.m.

Island Apple Snails at Corkscrew: Status, spread and lessons learned

Lee Martin*, Allyson Webb & Shawn Clem (Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary); lmartin@audubon.org

9:30 a.m.

The nature and un-natural upstream: Developments in the Corkscrew Road corridor

Brad Cornell (Audubon Florida/Audubon of the Western Everglades); bcornell@audubon.org

9:45 a.m.

Tegus in Southwest Florida: Forefront of a new invasion

Dan Quinn* & Tyson Dallas (Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission); daniel.quinn@myfwc.com

10:00 a.m.

Red tide impacts on coastal birds

Adam Dinuovo (Audubon Florida); adinuovo@audubon.org

10:15 a.m.

Q&A/Discussion

10:30 a.m.

Break

10:45 a.m.

Laurel wilt in Southwest Florida: An update on the status of Persea palustris and efforts to conserve local populations

Chad Washburn (Naples Botanical Garden); cwashburn@naplesgarden.org

11:00 a.m.

CREW winter sparrow banding

Bob Altman (SFWMD volunteer); baltman@peak.org

11:15 a.m.

Swallow-tailed Kite monitoring on CREW Management Area

Lauren Miller (Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission-CREW WEA); lauren.miller@myfwc.com

11:30 a.m.

Spatial ecology of two large native snake species in Southwest Florida

Matthew Metcalf (Florida Gulf Coast University); mmetcalf@fgcu.edu

11:45 a.m.

Q&A/Discussion

12:00 p.m.

Lunch

1:00 p.m.

Southern CREW Restoration: A biologist’s perspective

Maureen S. Bonness (Boondocks Botany LLC); bonness@infionline.net

1:15 p.m.

Picayune Strand: Hydrologic responses to 14 years of restoration

Mike Duever (Natural Ecosystems); mikeduever@naples.net

1:30 p.m.

The plight at Picayune Strand: Impacts of the African Jewelfish (Hemichromis letourneauxi) and hydrology on fish monitoring

Abrianna Sadler* (Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary), Randi Bowman, Lee Martin, David Ceilley & Shawn Clem; asadler@audubon.org

1:45 p.m.

Vallisneria americana restoration in the Caloosahatchee River & estuary: Building coastal resiliency through partnerships, applied research & adaptive management

Brett Fitzgerald, David Ceilley* (Johnson Engineering), Carter Henne, Jim Anderson, Edwin M. Everham III & James Douglass; dceilley@johnsoneng.com

2:00 p.m.

Wetlaculture: A sustainable model

Li Zhang (Florida Gulf Coast University); lzhang@fgcu.edu

2:15 p.m.

Q&A/Discussion

2:30 p.m.

Networking Happy Hour

_______________________________

PAST MEETINGS:

The 1st Annual Corkscrew Watershed Science Forum was held on February 27, 2015

Presentations from the 2015 Corkscrew Watershed Science Forum held on February 27, 2015.

The 2nd Annual Corkscrew Watershed Science Forum was held on January 29, 2016

Presentations from the 2016 Corkscrew Watershed Science Forum held on January 29, 2016.

How you can help, right now