Get Involved

Celebrating Volunteers

Many thanks to all Corkscrew volunteers!

Volunteers of the Year Recognized at 2019 Audubon Florida Assembly

Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary Volunteers Sharon and Dick Stilwell were recognized as Audubon Florida 2019 Volunteers of the Year at the annual Audubon Assembly awards held October 25 in Gainesville. Staff, fellow volunteers, and visitors to Corkscrew consider it a joy to be around Sharon and Dick. There may be better birders – but if there are, we haven’t come across them yet.

Sharon and Dick have been active volunteers at Corkscrew since March 2006. Although they are seasonal, splitting time between West Des Moines, Iowa, and Bonita Springs, together they have amassed more than 4,700 career service hours. Both have plates on the Sanctuary’s Career Service Hours recognition plaque inside the Blair Audubon Visitor Center.

Volunteer of the Year Awards were presented to the following Corkscrew volunteers during our 2019 local celebration: 

Resource Management: Joelvis Espinaco
Research: George Wilder
Facilities: Ron Holden
Visitor Center: Kari Rountree
Youth Programs: Arnie Collens
Public Programs: Art Blatt
Boardwalk Naturalist: Keith Johnson

Thank you all!

How you can help, right now