Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary Hosts Traveling Exhibit Featuring 2022 Audubon Photography Awards Winners

Eleven Winning Images on Display through August 31, 2023.

Naples, FL (June 27, 2023) – Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary will host the 2022 Audubon Photography Awards Traveling Exhibition at its Blair Visitor Center through August 31, 2023. Visitors can enjoy a display of the stunning winning images and learn more about local birdlife in Florida. 

2022 marked the 13th year of the contest, with winning photos, videos, and honorable mentions selected from 2,416 entrants from all 50 states, Washington D.C., and seven Canadian provinces and territories to appreciate the wonder of birds and the places they inhabit.

The exhibit is open to Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary visitors seven days a week from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. until the exhibit closes on August 31. Admission tickets to visit the Sanctuary cost $17 for adults, $6 for kids 6 to 14, and free for members. Florida residents can enjoy discounted admission to the Sanctuary for the month of August. With exhibits, artwork, and bird-friendly gardens, the Blair Visitor Center serves as the gateway to an enchanting wilderness with giant cypress trees that have lived here for nearly 600 years. Online tickets are recommended.

All images of the winners and honorable mentions can be found here.

More information on the contest is below.

2022 Contest Prizes
Grand Prize: $5,000
Professional Prize: $2,500
Amateur Prize: $2,500
Plants for Birds Prize: $2,500
Video Prize: $2,500
Female Bird Prize: $1,000
Fisher Prize: $1,000
Youth Prize: Six days at Audubon's Hog Island Audubon Camp during the 2023 season.

The 2022 panel of judges are:

  • Melissa Hafting, conservation photographer and youth nature educator 
  • Tara Tanaka, bird photographer, videographer, and Swarovski’s Digiscoper of the Year (2011 and 2012) 
  • Allen Murabayashi, co-founder, PhotoShelter 
  • John Rowden, former senior director of bird-friendly communities, National Audubon Society 
  • Sabine Meyer, photography director, National Audubon Society 
  • Mike Fernandez, video producer, National Audubon Society 
  • Sean Graesser, biologist and conservation photographer and videographer 
  • Founders of the Galbatross Project: 
    • Brooke Bateman, director of climate science, National Audubon Society 
    • Stephanie Beilke, conservation manager, conservation science 
    • Martha Harbison, senior network content editor, National Audubon Society 
    • Purbita Saha, member, Bergen County Audubon Society, and former Audubon magazine editor  
    • Joanna Wu, PhD student at the University of California, Los Angeles

All photos and videos are judged on the following criteria:

For more information, please visit the official contest rules

To learn more about Audubon’s Plants for Birds program and Native Plants Database, please visit

How you can help, right now